”For most of its history Seven Foot Knoll Lighthouse was manned by keepers of the US Lighthouse Service, and later the US Coast Guard. As an isolated station, Seven Foot Knoll was designed for three keepers – a principal and two assistants – which allowed for regular rotations ashore.
The duties of keepers were often routine but were nonetheless essential. Each night at sundown the beacon lamp was lit and had to remain so until sunrise the following morning – a task which required vigilance and regular maintenance. Each morning, the beacon lens and lamp were thoroughly cleaned and made ready for use that evening. In times of fog, the fog bell had to be sounded continuously which required winding the station’s bell machine every 45 minutes until the fog lifted.”
This vibrant red round feature was built in 1855, the oldest surviving screw-pile lighthouse in Maryland. Originally located at the mouth of Patapsco River, its light shone for the first time on January 10, 1856 and it continued doing so for 133 years, marking the safe approach to Baltimore. Replaced by modern navigational aids, it was subsequently relocated to Baltimore’s Inner Harbor. These days, it houses historical exhibits and consists part of the Baltimore Maritime Museum.
April 27th, 2017